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The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this
proposed regulation in accordance with Section 2.2-4007.G of the Administrative Process Act
and Executive Order Number 21 (02). Section 2.2-4007.G requires that such economic impact
anaysesinclude, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities
to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or
other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the
regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property. The analysis presented
below represents DPB’ s best estimate of these economic impacts.

Summary of the Proposed Regulation

The Board of Education (board) proposesto: 1) establish a minimum number of miles
driven during the behind-the-wheel phase of driver education instruction, 2) incorporate
language from the Driver Education Administration Manual into these regulations, and 3) amend

language to be consistent with the Code of Virginia.

Estimated Economic Impact

Section § 22.1-205 of the Code of Virginia states that the “Board of Education shall
establish for the public school system a standardized program of driver education in the safe
operation of motor vehicles.” Pursuant to legislation passed by the 2001 General Assembly,
“such program shall require a minimum number of miles driven during the behind-the-wheel
driver training.” The board proposes to require that students drive a minimum of 50 miles during
the in-car phase of instruction in high school driver education programs. This requirement will

have no impact. The board already requires that driver education programs have 14 periods of
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in-car instruction. Since a period lasts 50 minutes, 14 periods add up to 11 hours and 40
minutes. Even alowing for time to get into and out of the car, as well as pre and post-driving
instruction, it seems unlikely that in any program students would drive less than 50 milesin 11
hours and 40 minutes. Indeed the Department of Education (department) surveyed school
divisions and found that in all programs students drive substantially more than 50 miles during

the in-car phase of instruction.

The board proposes to incorporate part of the Driver Education Administration Manual

into these regulations. The incorporation does not affect policy.

These regulations have not been amended since 1980. The current regulations state that
“schools shall schedule a program of driver education for all eligible students.” This conflicts
with Section § 22.1-205 of the Code of Virginia, which states that “each (local) school board
shall determine whether to offer the program of driver education ...” In order to conform the
regulations with the Code of Virginia, the board proposes to eliminate the language requiring
that schools schedule a program of driver education. According to the department, the board has
left the decision on whether to offer driver education programsto local school boards for at |east

12 years. Thus, this proposed change to the regulations will have no impact.

Businesses and Entities Affected

The proposed regulations affect all school divisions, the 2,3007 driver education teachers

in Virginiaschools, and their students.

Localities Particularly Affected

The proposed regulations affect all Virginialocalities.

Projected Impact on Employment

The proposed amendments do not affect employment.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property

The proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of private property.

! Source: Department of Education
2 Approximate number from the Department of Education



